BA cssp way

What we do !

TWAS-AREP aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the region.


Subscribe to TWAS-AREP Newsletter


View all TWAS-AREP Newsletter


Subscribe to CSSP Newsletter


TWAS Young Arab Scientist (YAS) Prize

Scientific and Technological Achievement in Engineering Sciences 2021

TWAS Young Arab Scientist (YAS) Prize 2021

Application Deadline (Extended): 7 November 2021


Acknowledging the vital role Science and Technology plays in our societies, TWAS Arab Regional Partner has named the theme “Scientific and Technological Achievement in Engineering Sciences” for the 2021 Young Arab Scientist (YAS) Prize.The award aims at recognizing and rewarding the scientific work carried out by individual young scientists who live and work in developing countries.


The prize will be awarded to a young scientist from the Arab region who has accomplished an unusually notable research or technological effort in Engineering Sciences. The prize will be awarded for a substantial revision or modification of a scientific and technological principle or procedure, or an important improvement to the value of a device, activity, program, or public service.


The value of the prize is USD 3,000.



Applicants must:

1.  Hold the nationality of an Arab country.

2.  Be living and working in an Arab country and/or Developing country for at least the past three years.

3.  Hold a PhD degree.

4.  Have a proven track record in his/her field.

5.  Be under 40 years of age by 1 January 2021


Nominations will ONLY be accepted from:

1.  TWAS Arab Members

2.  Science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions from the Arab region.


Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.


NB: Self-nominations are not valid.




Nomination for this Prize is Closed Now


Ghadir Hanbali

Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry at An-Najah National University

Khalil Tamersit

Associate Professor, Department of Electronics and Telecommunications, Guelma University.