BA cssp way

What we do !

TWAS-AREP aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the region.


Subscribe to TWAS-AREP Newsletter


View all TWAS-AREP Newsletter


Subscribe to CSSP Newsletter


TWAS Arab Regional Award

Development of Scientific Educational Material 2023

TWAS Arab Regional Award 2023

The TWAS Regional Awards for 2023 will be awarded in recognition of significant and innovative contributions to scientific educational material, that help to advance the quality of science education in the Arab Region.

Each TWAS Regional Award winner will receive a USD 3,000 cash award.

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates for a TWAS-AREP Award must be scientists with a nationality of one of the following Arab Science and Technology Lagging Countries (STLCs) only (Comoros, Djibouti, Mauritania, Palestine, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Yemen) and must have been living and working in any developing country for at least the last ten yearsAny refugee and/or displaced scientist from any of the Arab STLCs who is living and working in any developing country is eligible to apply.


They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

  • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  • Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.

TWAS Members are not eligible for this Award.

The nominations will only be accepted and valid from:

  1. TWAS Arab Members.
  2. Science Academies, National Research Councils, Universities, Scientific Institutions from the Arab Region.
Note: Self nominations are not allowed.

Nomination for this Award is Closed Now


Prof. Mayssoon Dashash

Faculty of Dentistry, Damascus University & Former Director General of the Centre for Measurement and Evaluation in Higher Education