BA cssp way

What we do !

TWAS-AREP aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the region.


Subscribe to TWAS-AREP Newsletter


View all TWAS-AREP Newsletter


Subscribe to CSSP Newsletter


TWAS Arab Regional Award

Building Scientific Institutions 2012

TWAS Regional Prize 2012 for "Building Scientific Institutions"

TWAS Regional Prizes 2012 will be awarded in recognition of individuals who have played key roles in the establishment of vibrant scientific institutions and to those who have significantly expanded the activities of already-established institutions in the developing world.
TWAS Regional Prize awardee will receive a USD3,000 cash award.  
All five regional winners of the prize will be announced during the next TWAS General Meeting. This year’s meeting, the 12th General Conference and 23rd General Meeting, will be held in Tianjin, China, from 18th to 21st September 2012.
Eligibility Criteria:
Candidates for a TWAS-ARO  Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:
  • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  • Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.
The nominations will only be accepted and valid from:
1.      Members of TWAS-ARO
2.      Science Academies, National Research Councils, Universities, Scientific Institutions from the Arab Region, (a signed, stamped official nomination letter should be sent along with the nomination form, CV and list of publications to both emails/address shown below)
Note: Self Nominations are not valid

Nomination for this Prize is Closed Now


Magdy Madkour

Professor of Biotechnology, Arid Lands Agricultural Research Institute (ALARI), Faculty of Agriculture, Ain Shams University