Announcing Winners of the Hassan Fathi Award for Architecture 2010

Posted on

The BA organized a ceremony on Wednesday, 15 December 2010 to announce winners of the Hassan Fathi Award 2010. Held for the second successive year, the award is co-organized with the Architecture Committee of the Egyptian Supreme Council for Culture in an aim to promote contemporary Egyptian architecture.

Dr. Ismail Serageldin, Director of the Library of Alexandria and Head of the Jury Committee, gave an opening address about the Late Architect Hassan Fathi, who was the first to call for architecture for humanity as opposed to mechanized architecture. Hassan Fathi also believed in the value of heritage at a time when demolishing it was equivalent to modernization.

Twenty-four projects participated in "low-priced housing projects for medium and low income persons in existing or new cities", and "architectural heritage preservation" fields in addition to 7 nominees in Lifetime Achievements and 60 different publications and websites in architectural literature.

The first prize in low-priced housing projects was withheld this year, while 4 projects received certificates of appreciation, namely: Zayed Gardens, Sayadeen Village in El-Max, Desert Alternative Housing (Al-Zaher Al-Sahrawy) in Sohag, and Haram City.

In the field of architectural heritage preservation, the prize went to restoration of Wekalet Bazer’a. Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Albabenshal Hotel in Siwa, and the restoration project of Beit El-Razaz.

Magaz Magazine received the first prize in architectural literature, while Aly Rafaat, Zakeya Shafey and Salah Hegab received the Lifetime Achievement awards.

A special prize was given to Dr. Yehya El-Ziney in recognition of his role in supporting architecture and arts.