BA cssp way

What we do !

TWAS-AREP aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the region.


Subscribe to TWAS-AREP Newsletter


View all TWAS-AREP Newsletter


Subscribe to CSSP Newsletter


TWAS Arab Regional Award

Building Scientific Institutions 2020

TWAS Arab Regional Award 2020

Deadline is extended to: 30 June 2020.

TWAS Regional Awards for 2020 will be awarded in recognition of individuals who have played key roles in the establishment of vibrant scientific institutions and to those who have significantly expanded the activities of already-established institutions in the developing world.

TWAS Regional Award winner will receive a USD 3,000 cash award. 

Eligibility Criteria:

Candidates for a TWAS Arab Regional Award must be Arab scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

  • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  • Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.

Note: Self nominations are not allowed.

Appications from women scientists are encouraged.

The nominations will only be accepted and valid from:

  • TWAS Arab Members.
  • Science Academies, National Research Councils, Universities, Scientific Institutions from the Arab Region.

Nomination for this Award is Closed Now


Youssef Fares

Professor and Founding Director, Neuroscience Research Center, Lebanese University