BA cssp way

What we do !

TWAS-AREP aims to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the region.


Subscribe to TWAS-AREP Newsletter


View all TWAS-AREP Newsletter


Subscribe to CSSP Newsletter


TWAS Arab Regional Award

Science Diplomacy 2022

TWAS Arab Regional Award for 2022

The TWAS Arab Regional Award 2022 for Science Diplomacy will honor teams or individuals  who have collaborated on a trans-boundary research project contributing to, or made possible by, good international relations. The aim is to begin to bring the term 'Science Diplomacy' to the attention of both the research and diplomatic communities in developing countries.

The focus on successful regional technical and research cooperation is seen as a way of building trust between the various stakeholders.

Each TWAS Regional Award winner receive a USD 3,000 cash award.

Candidates for a TWAS-AREP Award must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years.


The nominations will only be accepted and valid from:

  1. Members of TWAS-AREP.
  2. Science Academies, National Research Councils, Universities, Scientific Institutions from the Arab Region.


Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.

Note: The recommendation/nomination letter is a letter from your nominator stating why he recommend you for this award. Please make sure that this letter is to be directed to TWAS Arab Regional Partner (TWAS-AREP) stating the award you apply to.


The deadline to apply is Extended to 31 August 2022.


  • Self nominations are not allowed.
  • Kindly upload the CV and the Stamped Recommendation/Nomination Letter in PDF file format
  • Only the winner will be contacted via email. 

Nomination for this Award is Closed Now