Conference Invited Speakers
Click the name to view Speaker's Biography 
  Name Position  
1 Abou Gharbia, Magid Vice President & Head, Chemical & Screening Sciences, Wyeth Research   USA
2 Amaral, Weber Senior Scientist, International Plant Genetic Resources Institute, IPGRI  
3 Ammann, Klaus Director, Botanical Garden  
4 Amri, Ahmed Biodiversity Project Coordinator, West Asia Regional Program (WARP) - ICARDA   Morocco
5 Badr, Effat Professor of Genetics, Faculty of Agriculture, Alexandria University  
6 Badran, Ibrahim Former Egyptian Minister of Health   Egypt
7 Beachy, Roger President, Donald Danforth Plant Science Center  
8 Bennett, Andrew Executive Director of the the Syngenta Foundation  
9 Bennett, David Acting General Secretary, European Federation of Biotechnology  
10 Carlone, Claudio Chairman, Hypothesis Communication Agency  
11 Catley-Carlson, Margaret Chair of the Global Water Partnership  
12 Cernea, Michael Former Senior Advisor for Sociology and Social Policy, the World Bank   Romania
13 Chen, Zhu Vice President, Chinese Academy of Sciences  
14 Choudhary, Muhammud Acting Director, HEJ Institute of Chemistry, University of Karachi  
15 Christie, Werner President, World Health Connections; Former Minister of Health   Norway
16 Clark, Brian President, International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Aarhus University
17 Coffman, Ronnie Chair, Department of Plant Breeding, Cornell University  
18 Cunningham, Patrick Professor of Animal Genetics, Trinity College; Member of European Group on Life Sciences   Ireland
19 Dahlstrom, Annica Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Göteberg University  
20 De Carvalho, Antonio Paes President and CEO of EXTRACTA Moleculas Naturais S/A  
21 De Greef, Willy Executive Director, International Biotech Regulatory Services   Belgium
22 Desmarescaux, Philippe Chairman, The World Life Sciences Forum, BioVision  
23 Diderichsen, Boerge President, European Federation of Biotechnology; Vice-President, Novo Nordisk   Denmark
24 Ebeid, Nadia Makram Former Minister of State for Environmental Affairs   Egypt
25 Ehlers, Stefan Head of Department, Borstel Leibniz Center for Medicine and BioSciences   Germany
26 El-Baz, Farouk Director, Center for Remote Sensing, Boston University  
27 El Beltagy, Adel Director General, International Center for Agricultural Research in Dry Areas   Syria
28 El Itriby, Hanaiya Director, Agricultural Genetic Engineering Research Center   Egypt
29 Elliott, Malcolm Director, The Norman Borlaug Institute for Plant Science Research   UK
30 Erbisch, Frederick Former Director, Office of Intellectual Property at Michigan State University   USA
31 Frison, Emile Director-General, IPGRI   Italy
32 Gabr, Mamdouh Secretary-General, Egyptian Red Crescent  
33 Garzelli, Massimo Head of Regional Office, UNIDO    
34 Gros, Francois Honorary Permanent Secretary, Academy of Sciences  
35 Hamze, Mouin President , International Center for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies   Lebanon
36 Hassan, Mohamed Executive Director, Third World Academy of Sciences    
37 Hautea, Randy Global Coordinator, International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-biotech Applications, SEAsia Director  
38 Helmy, Hassan Abass Chairman and Managing Director, Pharco Pharmaceuticals   Egypt
39 Hoogendoorn, Coosje Deputy Director-General, Programmes, International Plant Genetic Resources Institute, IPGRI, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research, CGIAR  
40 Huttner, Eric General Manager, Diversity Arrays Technology Pty Limited   Australia
41 Jarrett, Stephen Deputy Director, Supply Division, UNICEF    
42 Jasmin, Claude Founding President, International Council for Global Health Progress (ICGHP); Professor of Oncology, Hematology and Immunology, Hôpital Paul Brousse   France
43 Johnson, Brian Head of Biotechnology Advisory Unit, English Nature  
44 Lachmann, Sir Peter Past President, Academy of Medical Sciences   UK
45 MacMillan, Whitney Chairman Emeritus, Cargill Inc   USA
46 Madkour, Magdi President, Agriculture Research Centers, Ministry of Agriculture  
47 Matta, Cherif F. Chemistry Department, University of Toronto  
48 McConnell, David Department of Genetics, University of Dublin  
49 Murphy, Noel Department of Genetics, Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Trinity College  
50 Nagayama, Osamu President and CEO of Chugai Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd., and President of Jabex and JPMA   Japan
51 Nakhla, Rafik Bibliotheca Alexandrina   Egypt
52 Nutti, Marilia Biosafety and Human Nutriton Researcher, National Research Center on Food Technology, Embrapa  
53 Omi, Koji Former Minister of State for Science and Technology Policy  
54 Pardey, Philip Professor of Science and Technology Policy, Department of  Applied Economics, University of Minnesota  
55 Peacock, Jim President of Australian Academy of Science  
56 Persley, Gabrielle Chair, The Doyle Foundation  
57 Poortman, Ysbrand Vice President, World Alliance of Organizations for the Prevention of Birth Defects   Netherlands
58 Potrykus, Ingo Professor Emeritus of Plant Sciences, Institute of Plant Sciences, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology  
59 Prakash, C. S. Director, Center for Plant Biotechnology Research  
60 Rabbinge, Rudy University Professor, Executive Board of Wageningen UR  
61 Ramphele, Mamphela Managing Director, Human Development Network, the World Bank  
62 Romeo-Casabona, Carlos Director, Inter-University Chair BBVA Foundation-Provincial Government of Biscay in Law and the Human Genome  
63 Sasson, Albert Former Assistant Director General of UNESCO   Morocco
64 Schneider, Cynthia P. Associate Professor, Georgetown University; Former US Ambassador  
65 Serageldin, Ismail Director of Bibliotheca Alexandrina, Chairman of European Action on Global Life Sciences, EAGLES   Egypt
66 Solh, Mahmoud Director, Plant Production & Protection Division, Agricultural Dept., FAO    
67 Soliman, Salah Professor, Faculty of Agriculture, University of Alexandria   Egypt
68 Swaminathan, M. S. UNESCO Chair in Ecotechnology; M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation  
69 Thorntröm, Carl-Gustaf Senior Research Advisor, Agriculture Department for Research Cooperation, Sida/SAREC   Sweden
70 Van Montagu, Marc Chairman, Institute of Plant Biotechnology for Developing Countries  
71 Von Der Osten-Sacken, Alexander Former Executive Secretary, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research, CGIAR  
72 Yang, Huanming Director, Beijing Genomics Institute/Genomics and Bioinformatics Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Co-Vice-Chairman, European Action on Global Life Sciences
73 Zheng-Hong, Yuan Vice-Dean, Medical College , Fudan University   China