Exhibitions: The Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2007

The celebrations held on 24 October 2007 to mark the Bibliotheca Alexandria’s fifth anniversary, included the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2007. The Aga Khan Award was created in 1977 and is awarded to architectural projects in countries where Muslims live and work. To mark the 30th year of the foundation of the Aga Khan Award, the Bibliotheca Alexandrina organized a conference and exhibition on the award and its role in the development of the Islamic world.

The exhibition, which lasted from 24 October to 20 November 2007, focused on the nine winners selected from the 343 projects submitted for the award in 2007. These were:
- School in Rudrapur, Dinajpur, Bangladesh
- Moulmein Rise Residential Tower, Singapore
- Rehabilitation of the City of Shibam, Yemen
- Restoration of the Amiriya Complex, Rada, Yemen
- Central Market, Koudougou, Burkina Faso
- Rehabilitation of the Walled City, Nicosia, Cyprus
- Samir Kassir Square, Beirut, Lebanon
- University of Technology Petronas, Bandar Seri Iskandar, Malaysia
- Royal Netherlands Embassy, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia